Split Stretches Are Back! MCL Recovery Update with Ballerina Badass

Day Two of Dance Vlogging, and my split stretches are back! If you’ve been following along, you know that a couple of weeks ago, I pulled my left MCL (the ligament on the inside of the knee) and had to slow things down while it recovers. Luckily, it doesn’t look like I’ll need surgery, and the upside of this injury is that it means I am focusing even more on proper alignment and use of turnout muscles.
It felt great to be able to do full splits again. I am hoping to get back to turns next week – pulling my knee up into a pirouette still puts a strain on the MCL, which tells me I need to do more strengthening exercises around my knee and on my rotation muscles.
I also did a Periscope video while stretching, and over 200 people watched. They also made some interesting comments… one lovely visitor started a political discussion about Castro in Cuba (?!) and then suggested I offer stretching videos paired with cooking tips. Hmmm… he may be on to something there :). Luckily, people were overall respectful, if not a little over-complimentary. It’s a jungle out there, y’all!
My trusty cat partner-in-crime, Jo-Jo, decided it would be helpful if he sat on my chest during this video. Quite thoughtful, actually, since he usually goes straight for my face. Full squat. Anyhoo, I hope you all enjoy this video and feel encouraged to keep working, to take good care of yourself and your body, and to love the process of dancing – all facets!

Find Me On Social Media!
IG: @BallerinaBadass
Twitter: @BallerinaBadass
Vine: Ballerina Badass
Snapchat: (you guessed it): BallerinaBadass
Tumblr: Ballerina Badass
Periscope: @BallerinaBadass
Dance Blog: http://www.BecomingGiselle.com

Music: “Square Round” – YouTube Audio Music Library

#NeverGiveUp #NeverStopDancing
xo,
Georgia Reed

Leave a Reply

