That Time I Fell Down At Boston Ballet SDP – Behind The Curtain with Ballerina Badass


For my first “Behind The Curtain” video I decided to share this little gem of a memory with you: that time I fell on my butt in the middle of Italian fouettes at the end of a DonQ variation. Ugh!
The humiliation was real, y’all. At least, it certainly felt that way to me at the time – I was in my teens, it was the final performance of the summer dance program, and I had not rehearsed enough. Devon Carney warned me! Anyway, I’ll let you watch the video for all the gory details.

Have you ever had a major flop in a performance, literally or figuratively? (I don’t know how figuratively would work… maybe just an off-night in general.) Share it with me in the comment box below!
What I’ve come to realize in the years since this horrible moment in my ballet career, is that it is NOT the end of the world! One bad fall does not end your chances at becoming a ballerina. It does give one perspective and a good dose of humility, though. And, from that time on, I OVER-REHEARSE all of my roles. It’s ridiculous.

There’s a little Easter Egg at the end of this video – one of the male dancers at the summer program made what would now be considered a “meme” of Devon Carney – I’m not sure if he would appreciate it, but I absolutely loved Mr. Carney and still look up to him as one of my mentors – he was so encouraging to me during my 3 summers at Boston Ballet. He is now the Artistic Director of Kansas City Ballet. I hope I get to dance for him again, that would be a dream come true!

Also, the modern choreographer mentioned in this video is Yacov Sharir – here’s where you can learn more about him and his career:
http://www.utexas.edu/finearts/tad/people/sharir-yacov

I hope you enjoyed this video, and thank you for watching!
Music provided by YouTube Audio Library –
“Ich Grolle Nicht” – Ron Meixsell and Wahneta Meixsell
“Local Elevator” by Kevin MacLeod
“Eyes On You” by Network 415

Find Me On Social Media!
IG: @BallerinaBadass
Twitter: @BallerinaBadass
Vine: Ballerina Badass
Snapchat: (you guessed it): BallerinaBadass
Tumblr: Ballerina Badass
Periscope: @BallerinaBadass
Dance Blog: http://www.BallerinaBadass.wordpress.com

Bookings: Media Artists Group 323.658.5050 – Sheila Legette

Inquiries: georgiaisgiselle@gmail.com
#NeverGiveUp #NeverStopDancing
xo,
Georgia Reed

Leave a Reply

