Way Late Update with Ballerina Badass


Hey Dancers and Dance Fans!

I made this on my iPhone between rehearsals – that’s how busy it’s been this month.

Sorry for the shaky video – I was in such a rush, I didn’t even have time to grab my cool iPhone-holder by Camkix – argh!

Suffice it to say, August was NUTS. I planned to focus my goals on fouette turns, and while we did do them almost every class, I couldn’t get time or space to shoot videos for y’all, because every studio was filled to the brim with students rehearsing, choreographing, and preparing for the end of summer dance intensive performances.
I did get opportunities to coach some younger dancers, which I LOVED! I got to coach Little Swans, the White Swan variation and Black Swan variation (that one with the weird music in minor key that starts with hops en dehors in arabesque) plus a couple more. I’m looking forward to teaching variations class this fall (eek!).

You all saw my Dying Swan variation I posted on here – the next one I performed about 2 weeks later was the Spanish variation from Swan Lake. It. Was. Hard. A lot of big jumps, but in strange and challenging directions AND positions. Go watch Maria Alexandrova perform it – she is AMAZEBALLS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx0wOJfCx_k

Something I forgot to mention in this update: I worked on an underwater 365-degree video shoot! Several costume changes, dancing ballet underwater with mermaids, models, and synchronized swimmers – it was crazy fun! I can’t wait for it to come out so you all can see it.

This past weekend began rehearsals for Robert Kelley’s new ballet – I got cast as one of the four main couples, and it is so much fun! Very, very challenging choreography, but so much fun, and it’s set to music by Mendelssohn.

One more thing: I also choreographed a new ballet to the final movement of Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony #1 in D Major, Op. 25 – with EIGHTEEN dancers! I’ve been creating choreography in my head since… March? But when I set it on the dancers, it all came together so fast. We performed it last Friday at a private performance for benefactors of South Bay Ballet, and the audience loved it. I felt like a million bucks, y’all, and I was so proud of all my fellow dancers. In the meantime, there were seven other dances being performed that night, and I had only learned the choreo for one of them the day before – a last-minute change in casting. It happens, dancers! You gotta be ready. I was so glad I did it, though. Such a rewarding experience.

Oh wait. One MORE one more thing: we’ve started Nutcracker rehearsals. I am performing the role of the Sugar Plum Fairy – woop woop! And guys, this is a hard one! I’m really looking forward to this new challenge.

Okay, I think that’s it. Wait. Oh shoot. There’s also the new project my coach gave me to bring my arms forward and fold my shoulders back – okay, I’ll save that one for another video. I have to sew shoes now.
More great videos ARE coming, and September will be a lot less hectic. I think. 🙂

Thank you as always for watching, and have fun dancing!

Music for this video provided by YouTube Audio Library:
“Eyes On You” by Network 415

If you enjoyed this video and want to see more, or have a special video request, let me know in the comments or shoot me an email :).

Also, hit that “Donate” button up in my Channel Banner (Right hand corner) and help the Ballerina Badass Channel continue to make more quality content for everyone – thank you for your support!

Find Me On Social Media!
IG: @BallerinaBadass
Twitter: @BallerinaBadass
Vine: Ballerina Badass
Snapchat: (you guessed it): BallerinaBadass
Tumblr: Ballerina Badass
Periscope: @BallerinaBadass
Dance Blog: http://www.BallerinaBadass.wordpress.com

Bookings: Media Artists Group 323.658.5050 – Sheila Legette

Inquiries: georgiaisgiselle@gmail.com
#NeverGiveUp #NeverStopDancing
xo,
Georgia Reed

(made with #spliceapp – http://get.spliceapp.com)

Leave a Reply

